Skip to content

Feb 22nd Wing Chun training day

February 25, 2014

Last Saturday, was the academy’s first training day of 2014, held at my local kwoon in Doncaster 12 noon – 5pm.

This was my first ‘training day’ experience, there were parts that I enjoyed especially the last hour or so, but overall I found the whole experience a little underwhelming.

I’ve probably been spoilt, by the Aikido training courses, where after a 4 or 5 hour training course, your body (and mind) is in no doubt about the amount of physical (and mental) training you just endured.

We started (eventually – no formal start to the day) doing poon sau, and Chi sau (rolling and sticking hand exercises) and on to dan chi sau, and a few pak sau drills (which I enjoyed).

After the hour for lunch, we returned with work on the forms, which included for us beginners a 15 minute look at Chum Kiu & Biu Gee forms which are a good couple of years in front of me (personally I would have preferred 10 minutes on the wall bag) this was followed by some drills, after a further 20 minute break, we hit the last hour – which I found the most interesting, we had 20 mins on the pole form, the bat jam dao (8 cutting broad swords) and the Jong (wooden man).

I’m not sure if I will stick with Wing Chun, I think it’s the lack of class tempo and pace, that I’m finding a bit frustrating, Oh well, I’ll stick at it a bit longer, and see how things progress.

From → Events

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

