Skip to content

Dependent causation

April 4, 2014

A dust storm in the Sahara desert, causes hazy days over Yorkshire, it kind of indicates the Buddhist principle of dependent causation, everything is connected on some level, maybe, I’ve been out of the practice for a few years, but I think I’m on the right path.

I missed training this week, my elbow is still playing up and is very painful, so I didn’t want to aggravate it further.

The previous weekend I was able to do a Saturday at Huddersfield and a Sunday at Mirfield with Sensei Paul McDermott, Its been several years since I trained at the MMAC on a Sunday morning, Sensei Derrick used the venue, I was there from 4th Kyu to 2nd Kyu, some of my best years in Aikido.

Its been about 5 weeks since I attended Wing Chun, partly due to my painful elbow and partly because I was becoming a bit disapointed with my performance (not making any progress) Sifu text me last night to check up on me, so told him the situation and I’ll return in May, hopefully I can get some jogging done (without causing any knee issue’s) and I’ll start feeling better about my Wing Chun.

My Buddhism is the only thing that I can generate any enthusiasm for at the moment, not quite sure what’s wrong, maybe after almost 30 years of martial arts training, my body has just had enough and needs a break?

Thoughts go out this week to the friends and family of Nigel Bates, an Aikidoka and fellow member of Aso Ryu Aikido club, who passed away last week, I didn’t know Nigel that well, but I do remember when training with him, to be a very good student, very keen to learn and he always had a smile on his face, rest in peace Nigel.

From → weekly blog

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

