Skip to content

A new path up that same old mountain

January 8, 2015

Happy New Year folks!

At this time of year, we are reminded of the Buddhist principle of ‘true cause’ – this teaches us a way of Buddhist practice of always moving forward from this moment on and overcoming all problem and difficulties.

Well the last two years, I’ve spent more time off the mat with injuries than actually training, I’ve been planning my return to Aikido since November, although it is clear that I needed to change something, I of course could have returned to what I was doing before and expect the results to somehow be different.

However as the saying goes – ‘if you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got’

To make a lasting change, you have to start with yourself, to take responsibility for your own future, to make this true cause, we have to start with making a change in our own lives.

So I realised it was time for a fresh start, to start Aikido again, no I really mean START Aikido again…..back to white belt, with a completely different association, even a different ‘style’ of Aikido – Ki Style, this time.

This decision wasn’t an easy one to take, and it is in no way intended to show any disrespect to any of my former associations, clubs, instructors or fellow classmates.

This is just a ‘shift’ I needed to make in the way I approach training, I’m not talking so much of the physical (although this will also change) but my mental and psychological attitudes I feel I was developing before my knee injury, pride cometh before the fall….as the old saying goes.

So here I am back at the base of this old mountain, looking up and occasionally catching a glimpse of its snow covered peak, ready to put on my dogi once again and begin this new stage of my journey…..

From → weekly blog

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

