Skip to content

A belt by any other colour

January 16, 2015

“A rose by any other name would smell as sweet”

William Shakespeare (Romeo and Juliet)

So I’m back on the mat, again…

My first Aikido class for 9 months (due to injury) also a fresh start, new club, new association and even a different ‘style’ of Aikido, and yes back to white belt.

I told a friend recently of my plans to start over again, he seemed quite shocked and asked me how long it would take to get back to the grade I hold now (or held..?) my reply – “I’m not sure another ten years maybe?”

Monday night Sensei Acaster took me through the basic Aiki-Taiso exercises, and I went through the basic waza (as he knows that I’ve trained before, I suspect he was getting a feel of my existing technique and knowledge).

The club is part of the BKAA (British Ki Aikido Association) which has a good lineage, created by Sensei David Currie, a student of Koichi Tohei in Japan and Sensei Ken Williams in the UK.

So onwards and upwards, for the first time in a long time, I’m excited about my Aikido and looking forward to my next lesson…

In other ‘news’ I’m hosting and moderating my first Buddhist district discussion meeting on Sunday, so hopefully that should be a good experience.

From → weekly blog

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

