Skip to content

Rediscovering ‘Springtime’ in Autumn

September 30, 2016

It was a dark rainy Monday night, when I went through the doors of the ultra-modern gym and onto my first Wing Chun class in over two years.

It’s a world apart from the ‘ye olde village’ Aikido dojo I was part of until July, when our Sensei decided to call it a day and closed down the club.

 

A month ago after weighing up the pros and cons, I decided that I would continue my Martial arts journey with a return to Wing Chun (eternal springtime).

For the last couple of weeks I’ve been going through my training notes and brushing up on my Sui Lim Tao form at home.

 

I was concerned that with the venue and the leaflets and posters for the training ‘direct martial arts’ academy (they run other classes other than Wing Chun) that it may have been over commercialized and have a high pressure sales pitch, but this wasn’t the case at all, in fact it was very low key. I had to ask at the end of class about the membership and application process.

 

I was understandably a bit rusty – using my shoulders too much (instead of letting the elbow do the work) and my turning stance needs practice, but overall I coped well.

It was surprising how the dormant part of my brain which held the Wing Chun information suddenly came alive again during the drills.

There were a couple of very small differences in the first form, although I think the lineage is the same or similar to my old club (I believe they are part of the Samuel Kwok martial art association).

 

At this stage of my life, (being involved in and out of martial arts training for 30 years) I’m looking to settle down and focus on the long term, so I may see out the rest of my training in Wing Chun.

 

Happy days, can’t wait for the next class….

From → weekly blog

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

