Skip to content

Everyday is a journey

April 21, 2017

This is a phrase my Dad used last week when we went to visit him in hospital, he’s making good progress now with his recovery from his stroke, and has been in a wheel chair, so he’s getting some form of mobility back, everyday trying to do something new, gain a bit more independence.

Little by little, step by step, these were the words Alex Man used during his recent UK seminar, describing our progress in Wing Chun.

With the bank holiday weekend, we didn’t have a Wing Chun class this week, which is a little annoying as I’m due to take my grade on Saturday, and Sifu was away last lesson, so I would have liked to cover a little bit more of the syllabus, but I guess I’ll just take my Dads advice and treat everyday as a journey and see where the trip takes me, little by little, step by step.

There’s still a weakness in the third section (tan sau to garn sau) of my first form, although according to the syllabus I’m only graded on the first two sections, and I would have liked to practice my jut sau drill a few more times, but apart from that I’m fairly confident with my basics, so we’ll just have to see.

Sifu put me forward for the grade, so I have to have trust in my training.

 

After the grade is over (regardless of result) I’m investing in a wall bag, so during the summer months at least (as I’ll be hanging it outside) I can practice conditioning and striking.

 

On Tuesday, I sat with the South Yorkshire Zen group at their Doncaster Zendo, with Hoshi Scott Williams (Dana Sangha) it’s been about ten years since I last saw Scott, so It was nice to see him again, also Patrick was there, who I haven’t seen for a couple of years.

It’s been about ten months since I sat formally in a Zendo, so I was a bit conscious of getting the form correct, but I needn’t have worried as due to the size of the group and Zendo, form wasn’t really an issue.

So hopefully I can attend regularly and get back into my Zen practice again.

2017 for me is about settling down and getting into a stable and regular practice in both my martial arts (which I have with Wing Chun) and my Buddhist practice, I’ve spent (not necessarily wasted) time in the past looking for that greener grass, over various fences, but this year its time to realise the grass is just fine right here under my own two feet.

From → weekly blog

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

